Highlights / General details
For more than two centuries McFarland House has stood as a monument to the impeccable manners, good taste and gracious living that epitomizes Niagara-on-the-Lake. Visit us and experience a taste of Georgian style and pace. Qualified costumed interpreters provide guided tours of this historic home throughout the day.
Built in 1800, the House is the oldest property owned by The Niagara Parks Commission. Explore the many themes relating to the life and times of the pioneer McFarland family as you experience the period room settings.
In preparation for the Bicentennial of the War of 1812 McFarland House has undergone some much needed renovations since last season. This is the first occasion that such large scale improvements have been made to the property. The house was last renovated in 1955 before the site opened to the public in the spring of 1959.
We are very proud of these enhancements to our facilities which will allow us to better serve our guests. We have built a new historically inspired conservatory, created modern washrooms, and drastically renovated the interior spaces within the back wing of the home to make the property more accessible and welcoming for all who come to visit.
Transportation to and from the attraction.
Hours of operation
Available: Daily (May 1 - Labor Day), Saturday & Sunday ONLY (Labor Day - October 30); Open 12:00pm - 5:00pm, last seating and last tour are at 4:30pm.
Address: 15927 Niagara Parkway, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada. McFarland House is just a short distance south of Niagara-on-the-Lake on the scenic Niagara Parkway. Free parking is available for visitors.
Children 5 years of age and under are FREE!
Wheelchair access is available through first floor only!
Hours and Dates of operation are subject to change.
**All information requested must be supplied or booking is subject to automatic cancellation**